Navigation:  Transferring and Retrieving Files with Cloud Manager >

Moving Files to the Local Computer

Previous pageReturn to chapter overviewNext page

Note: When saving a file to your local computer, please be aware that version of the file is not accessible to other CloudSpace users nor is the file being safely backed up. Therefore, neither of the below actions are recommended except to make a temporary local copy of the file.

 

Saving a File to Your Local Computer

You can save any document or file from the application within which you are working if the application supports the Save As function. Usually, Save As is accessed by selecting File à Save As.

 

 

In the Save As Window, select Your Local Computer under Favorites in the navigation pane on the left side of the window. Browse to the location on your computer or network to where you want to save the file and click the Save Button.

 

 

Copy a File from CloudSpace to Your Local Computer

In the Navigation Pane, select the directory where your file is located. Select the file in the Contents Pane. Click the Copy Button in the File Explorer Bar at the top left of Cloud Manager.

 

 

In the Navigation Pane, select the folder where you want to move the file. You can view your local hard, network, and removable drives by double clicking on Computer. Then double click the appropriate drive to display the directory into which you want to move the file.

 

Select the destination folder in the Navigation Pane and click the Paste Button in the File Explorer Toolbar.  You will then see the file appear in the Contents Pane of the destination folder indicating the Copy and Paste functions were successful.

 

 

Note: The example above makes a copy of the file from CloudSpace into your local computer resulting in two distinct versions of the same file(s) which can then be edited or removed independently. Please be aware that changing one version does not affect the other. You can also choose to move a file from CloudSpace to your local computer by using the Cut feature in place of Copy. If you choose to Cut a file from CloudSpace, no version of the file will be available to other CloudSpace users in your company nor will the file be automatically backed up.