Moving to a new server or switching domain controllers.

Modified on: 2017-06-12 15:01:02 -0400


If moving to a terminal server, skip to the Terminal Server section of this article…

Moving Design Manager Pro 6 or 7 that is loaded on a shared network drive

Pro 7:

It is recommended that the workstation installations are removed (uninstalled) before moving the program to a new server.

To do this: go to each workstation, go to the Control panel, Programs & Features or Add/remove programs and Uninstall the Design Manager Pro 7.0 Installation.

After each workstation has uninstalled the Pro 7 program, Copy the entire Design Manager Pro 7.0 directory and all subdirectories from the current server/host (usually called DMPRO70) to the new server. 

Make the directory on the new server sharable and set the sharing / permissions and security to full access for all users. 

All users of Design Manager must have full control of the Design Manager Directory and subdirectories.

Now create the new users in your domain, etc.

Once workstations are able to log into the new domain/workgroup and can see the shared DMPro70 directory, go to each workstation, log in as the user that will run Design Manager and Install the Pro 7.0 program.

For installation help, see Installing on a Peer-to-Peer Network or Dedicated Server in the following article here:

Pro 6: 

When moving Design Manager Pro 6.0 to a new server or switching from a workgroup to a domain (or from a domain to a workgroup), the Design Manager Pro 6.0 Client should be removed from each workstation before moving the software directory to the new server and before setting up a domain/workgroup. 

To do this go to each workstation, control panel, add/remove programs and remove the Design Manager Pro 6.0 Client.  It is very important that only the Client is removed.  If the add/remove programs does not have the word “client” in the description, do not remove it.

After each client is removed, copy the entire Design Manager Pro 6.0 directory and all subdirectories (usually called DMPRO60) to the new server.  Make the directory on the new server sharable and set the sharing / permissions and security to full access for all users.  All users of Design Manager must have full control of the Design Manager Directory and subdirectories. Now create the new users in your domain, etc.

Once workstations are logging into the domain/workgroup and can see the shared directory, go to each workstation, log in as the user that is to run Design Manager and run the Client setup. See here.

Setting up the new server and transferring the software without first removing the Client from each workstation may corrupt the ability of the Client to be removed or to run properly.  In this case use the Microsoft Windows Installer Cleanup Utility to remove the Design Manager Pro 6.0 Client and then re-install it from the new network share. See here


Moving Design Manager Pro 6 or 7 to a Terminal Server


When moving the software to a Terminal Server, copy the entire Design Manager Pro6.0 or Pro7.0 directory and all subdirectories from the current server (usually called DMPRO60 or DMPro70) to a local drive of the new Terminal Server.  Follow the Terminal Server setup instructions starting at Step 7.

Pro 7, See here.

Pro 6, See: here.




Did you find this helpful? Yes No

Can you please tell us how we can improve this article?