How to Synchronize your Outlook Contacts with Design Manager (Desktop or Cloudspace users Only)

Modified on: 2017-08-04 12:02:26 -0400


All contacts and addresses can be exported and/or imported to and from MicrosoftOutlook® 2003 or higher Contacts folder.  To use this function, you musthave Microsoft Outlook 2003 or higher installed on your computer. Outlook® provides many mail merge, document, and management features using theMicrosoft Office® suite of programs.  Before you send contacts to Outlook,it is a good idea to organize your Outlook® Contact folders.  Design Manager suggests creating a new Contacts Folder for each type of Design Manager Address that you wish to synchronize.  You must first create folders in Outlook.  Design Manager will allow you to choose the folder but cannot create one. See the Outlook®’s Help system for information about creating Contact folders is Outlook®.


When you are ready to send and/or receive contacts with Outlook®, click on the Microsoft Outlook® Sync Button.  Note that this is a manual system; the button must be clicked to execute the exchange of contacts. Upon clicking thebutton, the following window will appear…


Choose an Outlook® folder for each type of Contact that you wish to synchronize. Next, choose a synchronization type. There are two ways the Design Manager will move addresses between itself and Outlook®.


The first is a “one-way” synchronization. This method simply copies contacts from Design Manager into Outlook. Should the contact already exist in Outlook® it will be changed to match the Design Manager contact. When using a one-way sync, all changes to your contacts such as new phone numbers and updated addresses should be made in Design Manager as any changes made in Outlook® will be lost.


 The second method is a “two-way” synchronization. Using this method, new contacts in the Outlook® folder are also created in Design Manager as well as new contacts in Design Manager are created in Outlook®. Changes made to contacts such as new phone numbers or address changes will be updated based on the last modified date and time ofthe contact.  For example, if a contact was last changed on March 1stin Design Manager and then changes where made on March 2nd to thecontact in Outlook®, upon a two-way sync, the Design Manager contact would bechanged to match the Outlook information. In a multi-user system, the last user to make a change overrides all other users.

Design Manager recommends using a two-way sync to bring contacts from Outlook® into Design Manager on the initial synchronization.  It is then recommended,especially in a multi-user installation, to use Design Manager as the primary tool to make changes and add new addresses, so that the markedly simpler one-way sync can be used from that time forward.


Selecting the update notes option will move the contact notes as well as all of the address and other contact information. Since Outlook® and Design Manager use different methods for storing the formatting (i.e., bold, underline, etc.) of the notes, the formatting will be lost if using a two-way sync.

The Save Setting Button can be used to save all of the options on the Microsoft® Outlook® Contact Synchronization Window so that you do not need to re-select them next time that you run a sync.

Please note that Design Manager recognizes and keeps track of each contact by its Design Manager code. This allows you the freedom to make changes to the names, addresses, etc. and have those changes always stay with that contact. Design Manager stores the code in Outlook under the Customer ID Field in Miscellaneous Fields. See picture below.



Did you find this helpful? Yes No

Can you please tell us how we can improve this article?