How to reset a user's Outlook profile so the new email account wizard is presented again on startup

Modified on: 2017-04-28 12:46:22 -0400


*This article is for Design Manager and Skybox Technical Support only…it cannot be attempted by the end-user.*

This procedure clears all settings in the user’s Outlook and causes the new email account wizard to run next time Outlook is started.  Backup the roaming profile before deleting the Outlook key.  To reset Outlook, load the user’s hive and delete the flowing key along with all of the sub-keys:

HKEY_USERS\hivename\Software\Microsoft\Windows NT\CurrentVersion\Windows Messaging Subsystem\Profiles\Outlook

(make sure that the hive is unloaded properly after making the change or it will revert back)

Finally, clear out the Outlook settings and data cache…

Delete the Outlook folder under the user’s profile in AppData\Roaming\Microsoft



Did you find it helpful? Yes No

Send feedback
Sorry we couldn't be helpful. Help us improve this article with your feedback.