Upgrade Instructions from Pro 7.0 R2 to R3

Modified on: 2017-08-04 11:15:53 -0400


These instructions are for upgrading a Pro 7.0 R2 version to Pro 7.0 R3 that is using the free data engine. These instructions do not apply to SQL Server users. Before following these instructions, check to make sure you are using the correct version…Run Design Manager Pro 7.0, choose Help across the top, and then choose About Design Manger. The Version should be 7.0.0200 or higher (0200 or higher number indicates R2). The Data Engine (about ¾ of the way down) should read “DAO 3.6 connected to MS Jet Version 4.0.”


For single-user system and networks where each workstation runs DM from a shared drive: (for Terminal Server instructions - see lower section)

1. Make sure all users are out of DM (reboot the server or computer that contains the share to be certain everyone is out).

2. Work from the main computer, server, or one of the faster workstations. Log into the machine with Administrator access.

3. Start DM and run a backup. Choose File, Utilities, Backup the Database.


 


4. Choose Yes to Close DM to continue with the Back-up Process.


5. Create a backup with pictures and store to a new location on your hard drive, do not overwrite any existing backups. Example: you can create a new directory/folder on your C drive named “DM_BU_before_upgrade”…You must create this folder on your own before you begin the backup process.

 



6. After your backup completes, restart DM, and then choose Help, About Design Manager. Write down the Application Path. Exit DM. In the examples below we show the path as T:\DMpro70

 


7. Place the Design Manager Pro 7.0 R3 Update CD into the computer and run the setup.exe file. If you downloaded the setup.exe from the Internet, run the setup.exe that you downloaded.


8. Follow the prompts and agree to the product licenses until you are presented with a Destination Folder Window with a Change button. Click the Change button and browse to or enter the path that you wrote down in Step 6.


9. Click OK and then click on Next and continue through the rest of the installation.



10. After the setup completes and the computer re-starts (if necessary), Run DM.

11. Choose File, Live Update. There is no need to run another backup. Run a Live Update from the Internet.

 


12. After Live Update completes your software will be updated to R3.

13. Next, you must go to each computer or workstation from which you run Design Manager and browse to the Design Manager shared drive and folder, find the Client folder, and then run the SetupR3.exe file and follow the prompts through the installation. You must do this for each computer that will be running the DM program.



For Terminal Server systems:

1. Make sure all users are out of DM (reboot the Terminal Server to be certain everyone is out).

2. Log into the Server with Administrator access.

3. Start DM and run a backup. Choose File, Utilities, Backup the Database. Create a backup with pictures and store to a new location on your hard drive, do not overwrite any existing backups. *refer to the pictures above for help.

4. After your backup completes, restart DM, and then choose Help, About Design Manager. Write down the Application Path. Exit DM.

5. Open up a Command Prompt.

6. Type “change user /install” at the Prompt and hit Enter. The prompt should respond “Ready to Install Applications.”


7. Place the Design Manager Pro 7.0 R3 Update CD into the computer and run the setup.exe file. If you downloaded the setup.exe from the Internet, run the setup.exe file that you downloaded.

8. Follow the prompts and agree to the product licenses. You will be presented with a Destination Folder Window with a Change button. Click the Change button and browse to or enter the path that you wrote down in Step 4. Click OK and then click on Next and continue through the rest of the installation.

9. After the setup completes and the server re-starts (if necessary), Run DM.

10. Choose File, Live Update. There is no need to run another backup. Run a Live Update from the Internet. After the update completes choose “no” when asked to restart DM.

11. Open up a Command Prompt.

12. Type “change user /execute” at the Prompt and hit Enter. The prompt should respond “Ready to Execute Applications.” *refer to Command Prompt picture above for command line.

13. Your software will now be updated to R3. Note: If you have any workstations that do not access DM through the Terminal Server you must follow Step 10 from the “For single-user system and networks where each workstation runs DM from a shared drive” from above.



If you are uncomfortable following the above instructions or have started the instructions and are experiencing any issues please call Tech Support at 215-345-0844.



Did you find this helpful? Yes No

Can you please tell us how we can improve this article?